Four Top-Of-My-List Day Spas in Sanur

If I’m not walking or eating in blissful Bali you’ll probably find me in a day spa. It’s my equal favourite of things to do here and there are plenty of spas to choose from all over the island.

I’ve been spending lots of time in Sanur just lately. It’s sleepier than the other side of the island and there are no traffic jams. Not yet, at least.

There’s paved path that winds its way along the coast for around 4 kms past shops and restaurants and traditional boats bobbing on the water. There’s always an interesting sight to see at any time of the day or evening.

Walking inevitably prompts an appetite and it’s not difficult to find delicious food, local or not, nearby. There is a wide choice of restaurants along the paved path as well as cafes and warungs further back from the shore.

Once I’ve satisfied these two primary addictions I always feel I’ve deserved a pamper-treat so I head to a spa. I have put together my shortlist of personal favourites in Sanur, with a brief description of why I added each to my bliss list.

First on my list is Peni Weni in Jalan Sudamala, at the south end of Sanur. It’s owned by a local and is quite traditional in its decor and many of the treatments offered here. The main salon area is open and there is usually a quiet buzz of conversation, in a variety of languages, between staff and clients enjoying mani-pedis. I’m glad I speak and understand Indonesian and a smidge of Balinese because I often pick up a titbit of local gossip.

My ultimate pleasure treatment here is the traditional cream bath. After a half-hour head massage, with a thick conditioning lotion, my head is wrapped in a warm towel to help the conditioner do magic things to my hair. While this magic happens my arms, hands, neck and shoulders are massaged. Then my hair is washed and blow-dried before I float out of the salon in a dreamy state. All this for around$15Aus.

Exactly next door is Leha-Leha Spa. Like its neighbour, Leha-Leha Spa follows a traditional Indonesian theme. Flowers, incense and soft music create an ambience, both welcoming and relaxing, as clients prepare for their chosen treatment. I recently indulged in a three hour massage-body scrub-facial-flower bath combination that left me in a bubble of euphoria for the rest of the day.

Uptown, on Jalan Danau Tamblingan, Sanur’s main road, is Koa Boutique Spa. This one is a more sophisticated venue and offers an onsite boutique so you can buy a new handbag, frock or other adornment after your treatment.

A one hour massage at Koa will cost around $16Aus. I have enjoyed very good massages here although the salon has cubicles rather than enclosed rooms and there were distractions as clients came in and out of the area. I admit this did disturb my mindfulness practice.

My favourite Koa treatment is the very professional pedicure which incorporates a foot scrub and leg massage for $22Aus. Lots of colours to choose from too.

As far as location goes, The Nest wins hands-down as the very best in Sanur. Perched on the edge of the beach with a clear view of boats and sparkling water this spa ensures an exquisite experience even before you enter the salon.

My pick of treatments here is Happy Feet, which costs $37aus and lasts 70 minutes. My feet are exfoliated, and massaged, treated with a cooling mint foot mask, moisturised then finished with an expert polish application. It is a bit dearer here than the other day spas mentioned but that’s a minor consideration when the view from my pedi-chair is worth an abundance of rupiah.

Guests are offered a refreshing lime sorbet at the end of their treatment at The Nest. What a beautiful way to finish a delightful experience.

All off my top four are within about 2kms of each other and easily accessible by bicycle.

One thought on “Four Top-Of-My-List Day Spas in Sanur”

Leave a comment